Glee:”The Substitute” Review

November 16, 2010

I liked this episode, but just thought it was okay, nothing special. It wasn’t awful, but I thought some things about this episode were weird. First, I’ll start off saying there’s no finchel in this one shippers. Next the weird things, Mercedes obsessing about tattertots for one. It’s seems a little out of character for me to see Mercedes so into tattertots because of her supposed need for a boyfriend. I just didn’t buy it. Also, who would have foresaw Mercedes sticking tattertots up Sue Sylvester’s tail pipe? That’s pretty uncharacteristic of her. Next, Terri and Will having sex, doesn’t this go against what the first thirteen episodes of the first season. That they should not be together?
Okay, there were positives in this episode. Rachel’s storyline was fine in this episode. All of the song and dance numbers were good. I enjoyed “Forget You” and the mash-up of “Singin in the Rain/Umbrella”. The dancing by Mike Chang in “Make ‘Em Laugh” was nice. Overall, other than Mercedes’ storyline a good episode. I will give this one a C+. The Brittany quote of the night is “I stopped after M and N. I felt they were too similar and got frustrated.”

Leave a Reply

