Glee: “Grilled Cheesus” Review

October 5, 2010

I’ve decided lately to start writing my own reviews of the episodes of “Glee”. I’ll start by giving out letter grades to the episodes “Audition” and “Britney/Brittany”. Audition gets a A-, while Britney/Brittany gets a C-. I thought “Grilled Cheesus” was a nice improvement from the weak plot of the Britney episode. As an agnostic, I thought they generally handled the topic of religion well. At first though, I did have some issues with how the rest of the Glee club reacted to Kurt once they learned he did not believe in God. I was also surprised to learn how Kurt and Sue(and later Finn) seemed to be the only atheists at the school. I also thought that Puck singing “Only the Good Die Young” was a bit gratuitous and all it did was give Puck some dialog that we haven’t seen for a while.
Aside from that overall it was a good episode. Finn’s grilled cheesus storyline was funny and enjoyable. I’ll never forget how Finn says “thank you! Grilled Cheesus!”. I liked how Cory sang “Losing My Religion” it’s a personal favourite of mine, I think it shows that Cory’s singing has improved a lot since the first season. Also, the Finchel was good in this episode, Finn finally gets to touch Rachel’s boobs! The best part of the episode though was the Kurt/Burt storyline. Chris Colfer was amazing singing “I Want to Hold Your Hand”. Sue was also interesting in this episode; she showed Emma was wrong to push her beliefs on to others and came out more sympathetic than Emma did in that scene. Overall, I would give this episode a solid B.
Note:I love the little reference Kurt makes to the “flying spaghetti monster”.
(Also, sorry if this review sucks, i’ll do my best to make the other ones better.)

Leave a Reply

